The actions of the Fund and its partners in 2020 and since its launch!

Our actions in 2020

In 2020, in a context of health crisis, the Maisons du Monde Foundation has supported 21 not-for-profit projects fighting against deforestation in the Southern Hemisphere and promoting wood recovery in Europe.

The COVID-19 pandemic is proof that the destruction of forests and natural ecosystems has a serious impact on human health. Deprived of a habitat, wildlife is living in closer proximity to humans, making it easier for pathogenic microorganisms to spread from animals to humans. Given this reality, urgent action is needed in order to preserve forests and trees by joining forces with people around the world. That is why, in 2020, the Maisons du Monde Foundation supported 21 organisations fighting against deforestation in the Southern Hemisphere and promoting wood recovery in Europe.

“2020 was a special year in every respect: ecologically, socially, economically and in terms of human relations. It is an unprecedented context that reminds us of the impermanence of life and that, as in the natural world, our existence is governed by cycles. This was a year that brought us closer to the simple pleasures of life and gave us back a taste for the essentials. The most important thing for the Maisons du Monde Foundation was to maintain close ties with all the organisations that we support to help them through the crisis; by strengthening our support through an emergency allocation and adapting our partnership in light of the impact on the ground (with the postponement of certain projects, the rescheduling of certain planned activities etc.).

This is the closest we’ve ever been with our stakeholders, asking them to give us their opinion about our role and our purpose. In the first quarter we led a lot of discussions between the various parties involved and had to resign ourselves to postponing our planned event “Aux Arbres”. From all these interactions, we have learnt lessons that will enable us to extend the scope of our activities and to further develop our philosophy of philanthropy. After a series of intense working sessions, we are proud to announce the creation of the Maisons du Monde Foundation Endowment Fund, which will take over from our Foundation, becoming operational on 1 January 2021. We wish every success to the projects and organisations that mobilise on a daily basis to preserve the forest and reconnect men and women with the central role in our lives played by the tree!”  

Fabienne Morgaut, former Executive Director of the Maisons du Monde Foundation

A WHOLE WORLD OF PROJECTS

After five years under the aegis of the Nicolas Hulot Foundation, it is time for us to take stock of the actions undertaken by the Maisons du Monde Foundation. Since our creation at the end of 2015, we have supported 37 projects in 14 different countries, spread across the 3 major rainforest basins and in Europe, wherever there was an urgent need for action.

 

FOREST CONSERVATION

Forests play a fundamental role in the balance of life on our planet, particularly in regulating the climate and maintaining biodiversity. And yet more than 13 million hectares of forests disappear every year, mainly in tropical basins. Because urgent action is needed, the Maisons du Monde Foundation has supported 25 forest conservation projects since its inception, undertaken by and for local people. In 2020, a total of 17 projects were funded to combat deforestation.

Apart from forest ecosystems, the tree plays a fundamental role and must be protected in order to stem the decline in biodiversity. For this reason, the Maisons du Monde Foundation and other sponsors created, at the initiative of AFAC-Agroforestry, the Tree Fund in 2020.

“In France, the trees that make up the hedges and woodlands of our countryside are very vulnerable. Since 1950, 70% of hedges have disappeared, and continue to shrink by more than 10,000km each year, causing many animal species to disappear with them.  

To combat the disappearance of these precious ecosystems, specialised stakeholders who are firmly committed to the role of the tree in rural and agricultural life have joined together under the aegis of the Tree Fund and are now acting together for the agro-ecological transition of our countryside. The Maisons du Monde Foundation has provided structural support for its creation and the consolidation of its actions by committing to its cause for a period of three years. 

By supporting thousands of local projects in France, we hope to give hedgerows their rightful place back on agricultural land and in our rural communities, while also enabling them to express all their virtues: magnificent shelters for biodiversity, allies against soil erosion, water pollution and climate change, and true resources for our modern agricultural systems.”  

Sylvie Monier, President of the Tree Fund

 

 

“This is an unprecedented joint action motivated by a spirit of solidarity! The Nature et Découvertes and Maisons du Monde brands are joining forces with other patrons for the first time, in order to directly support the creation of a Tree Fund through their Foundation.

They also ensure sustainability by mobilising their employees and customers in stores with the Arrondi en caisse campaign (in which customers round up their payments to donate the spare change), the objective of which is to support our 2021 and 2022 planting programmes.”  

David Sève, Director of Social Commitments and of the Nature et Découvertes Foundation

 

Would you like to find out more about the Tree Fund and its actions?
Visit our project sheet (french only)!

RECOVERING WOOD

Preserving forests also means rethinking our methods of consumption and avoiding new drains on raw materials. By imagining new ways of reusing wood, participants in the circular economy are proposing a model of society that reduces its environmental impacts and puts people back at the heart of the economy. In the last 5 years, the Foundation has supported 11 wood recovery projects both in France and in the rest of Europe, of which 7 were undertaken in 2020.

 

“I like to describe the MaSMadera project as a circular project, because we collect worn-out furniture that would otherwise be thrown out, and then rework it in training workshops involving people in precarious situations. We then champion the project on social media so the citizens of Vigo can also mobilise to reuse and repair these wooden objects. All of the furniture and other objects are then sold in a small street market organised by the Emaus Galicia charity association.

Since the start of the project, we have already reused 50 pieces of furniture, trained 20 people, and with a single workshop lasting 280 hours in total, we managed to reduce the amount of wood wasted by 164kg and recycled by 185kg. We are extremely proud of these results!”

Virginia Romero, MaSmadera Project Coordinator

 

“Through the MaSmadera project, we bring people together to interact, build relationships and receive training in all the activities of everyday life. We support them so they gain confidence and independence but, above all, so they can rediscover the skills that they already have.

As with the work carried out with old furniture, we simply help them to reveal their potential.”  

Vanesa, MaSmadera project leader

 

Would you like to know more about the MaSmadera project run by the Emaus Vigo charity association?
Visit our project sheet!

 

Discover the video of the project

RALLYING AROUND THE ENVIRONMENT

Because forest conservation first requires awareness and action on both individual and collective levels, the Maisons du Monde Foundation has been supporting and implementing citizen mobilisation programmes since 2015 to reconnect people with nature.

In this regard, 2020 was a real challenge, forcing us all to rethink how we interact and mobilise for the environment. We would like to thank all our partners who have worked with us throughout the year despite the difficulties.

 

“Having been a partner of ‘Aux Arbres’ since its creation in 2018, Envol Vert sees it as a vital event for environmental associations so that they can change the public’s view of forests.

Since 2020, we have been forced to reinvent our awareness events so they are suitable given the health crisis and comply with social distancing measures.”  

Arnaud Lefèvre, Development and Partnerships Manager, Envol Vert

 

In order to cope with this unprecedented context, the Maisons du Monde Foundation dedicated the end of 2020 to modifying the “Aux Arbres!” event. Thanks to the help of its partners, it successfully created a suitable new format given the health crisis, with the same ambition: to invite everyone to take action to preserve forests and biodiversity.

Visit the page dedicated to “Aux Arbres!” on our website to learn more!

 

 

And to discover our old activity reports click here:

 

Activity report 2019 (French only)

Découvrez les actions de la Fondation et de ses partenaires en 2020 et depuis son lancement !

Nos actions en 2020

En 2020, dans un contexte de crise sanitaire, la Fondation Maisons du Monde a soutenu 21 associations qui luttent contre la déforestation dans les pays du Sud et pour revaloriser le matériau bois en Europe.

La pandémie de Covid-19 nous le démontre, la destruction des forêts et des écosystèmes naturels a de graves répercussions sur la santé humaine. Privée de son habitat, la faune sauvage se rapproche des Hommes, favorisant ainsi la transmission de micro-organismes pathogènes provenant des animaux à l’être humain. Dans ce contexte, il est plus qu’urgent d’agir pour la préservation des forêts et des arbres en unissant nos forces à celles des populations du monde entier. C’est pourquoi la Fondation Maisons du Monde a soutenu, en 2020 encore, 21 associations qui luttent contre la déforestation dans les pays du Sud et pour revaloriser le matériau bois en Europe.

 

« 2020 a été une année particulière dans toutes ses dimensions : écologique, sociale, relationnelle, économique… C’est un contexte inédit qui nous rappelle à l’impermanence de la vie et que, tout comme la nature, nous sommes faits de cycles. Cette année nous a rapproché du vivant et redonné le goût de « l’essentiel ». L’essentiel pour la Fondation Maisons du Monde a été de rester en proximité avec toutes les associations que nous soutenons pour les aider à traverser la crise ; en renforçant notre soutien par une allocation d’urgence et en adaptant notre partenariat au vu des répercussions sur le terrain (report de projets, glissement des activités prévues…).

Nous n’avons jamais été aussi proches de nos parties prenantes, les interrogeant sur notre rôle et notre finalité. Nous avons animé au premier trimestre beaucoup de concertations entre les acteurs et dû faire le choix de reporter notre événement Aux Arbres. De toutes ces interactions, nous avons tiré des enseignements pour renforcer notre périmètre d’action et affiner notre philosophie de la philanthropie. A l’issue de longues séances de travail, nous sommes fiers de faire émerger le fonds de dotation Maisons du Monde Foundation, qui prend le relais de notre Fondation pour opérer à partir du 1er janvier 2021. Longue vie aux projets et aux associations qui se mobilisent au quotidien pour préserver la forêt et reconnecter les femmes et les hommes à la place centrale de l’arbre ! »

Fabienne Morgaut, ex-directrice générale de la Fondation Maisons du Monde

TOUT UN MONDE DE PROJETS

Après 5 années passées sous l’égide de la Fondation Nicolas Hulot, il est temps pour nous de dresser un premier bilan des actions menées par la Fondation Maisons du Monde. Depuis notre création fin 2015, nous avons soutenu 38 projets associatifs dans 15 pays du monde, répartis entre les trois grands bassins de forêt tropicale et en Europe, partout où il y a urgence d’agir.

 

PRÉSERVER LES FORÊTS ET LES ARBRES

Les forêts jouent un rôle fondamental dans l’équilibre de la planète, en particulier dans la régulation du climat et le maintien de la biodiversité. Et pourtant, plus de 13 millions d’hectares d’entre elles disparaissent chaque année, principalement dans les bassins tropicaux. Parce qu’il est urgent d’agir, la Fondation Maisons du Monde a soutenu 25 projets de préservation des forêts depuis sa création, construits par et pour les populations locales. En 2020, 17 projets ont été financés pour lutter contre la déforestation.

En-dehors des écosystèmes forestiers, l’arbre joue aussi un rôle fondamental et doit être protégé afin d’enrayer le déclin de la biodiversité. C’est pourquoi la Fondation Maisons du Monde et d’autres mécènes ont créé, à l’initiative de l’Afac-Agroforesteries, le Fonds pour l’Arbre en 2020.

« En France, les arbres qui composent les haies et bosquets de nos campagnes sont très vulnérables. Depuis 1950, 70 % des haies ont disparu ; et elles continuent de reculer de plus de 10 000 km chaque année, entraînant avec elles la disparition de nombreuses espèces animales.  

Pour lutter contre la disparition de ces écosystèmes précieux, des acteurs spécialisés et engagés pour l’arbre rural et agricole se sont unis au sein du Fonds pour l’Arbre et agissent désormais, ensemble, pour la transition agroécologique de nos campagnes. La Maisons du Monde Foundation a apporté un soutien structurant pour sa création et la consolidation de ses actions en s’y engageant pour 3 ans. 

En soutenant des milliers de projets locaux en France, nous espérons redonner leur place aux haies sur les parcelles agricoles et dans nos communes rurales, mais aussi leur permettre d’exprimer toutes leurs vertus : de formidables abris pour la biodiversité, des alliées contre l’érosion des sols, la pollution des eaux et le dérèglement climatique, des ressources pour nos systèmes agricoles. » 

Sylvie Monier, présidente du Fonds pour l’Arbre

 

 

« C’est une action commune inédite et solidaire ! Nature & Découvertes et Maisons du Monde se mobilisent de façon inédite et conjointe aux côtés d’autres mécènes pour soutenir directement la création d’un Fonds pour l’arbre via leur Fondation.

Elles en assurent aussi la pérennité par la mobilisation de leurs salariés et clients en magasin avec l’ARRONDI en caisse, dont l’objectif des collectes est de soutenir les programmes de plantations 2021 et 2022. »

David Sève, directeur des engagements et de la Fondation Nature & Découvertes

 

 

Envie d’en savoir plus sur le Fonds pour l’Arbre et ses actions ?
Rendez-vous sur notre fiche projet !

REVALORISER LE BOIS

Préserver les forêts, c’est aussi repenser nos modes de consommation et éviter de nouvelles ponctions sur la matière première. En imaginant de nouvelles façons de réutiliser le bois, les acteurs de l’économie circulaire nous proposent un modèle de société qui réduit ses impacts environnementaux et replace l’Homme au cœur de l’économie. En 5 ans, la Fondation a ainsi soutenu 11 projets de revalorisation du matériau bois en France comme en Europe, dont 7 en 2020.

 

“J’aime décrire le projet MaSMadera comme un projet circulaire car nous récupérons les meubles usés destinés à la benne, puis nous les retapons lors d’ateliers de formation avec des personnes en situation de précarité. Nous défendons ensuite le projet sur les réseaux sociaux pour que les citoyens de Vigo se mobilisent aussi pour réutiliser et réparer ces objets de bois. Tous ces meubles et objets sont ensuite vendus dans un petit marché de rue organisé par Emaus Galicia.

Depuis le démarrage du projet, nous avons déjà réutilisé 50 meubles, formé 20 personnes et, avec un seul atelier de 280 heures au total, nous avons réussi une diminution de 164 kg de résidus de bois et de 185 kg de bois recyclé. Nous sommes très fiers de ces résultats !”

Virginia Romero, coordinatrice du projet MaSmadera

 

 

« A travers le projet MaSmadera, nous réunissons des personnes pour qu’elles interagissent, nouent des relations et se forment à toutes les activités de la vie quotidienne. Nous les accompagnons pour qu’elles gagnent en confiance et en autonomie mais, surtout, pour qu’elles redécouvrent les capacités qu’elles possédaient déjà.

Comme avec le travail des meubles anciens, nous les aidons tout simplement à révéler leur potentiel. »

Vanesa, encadrante du projet MaSmadera

 

Envie d’en savoir plus sur le projet MaSmadera de l’association Emaus Vigo ?
Rendez-vous sur notre fiche projet !

 

Pour découvrir la vidéo du projet

MOBILISER POUR L'ENVIRONNEMENT

Parce que la préservation des forêts passe par une nécessaire prise de conscience et un passage à l’action tant à l’échelle individuelle que collective, la Fondation Maisons du Monde met en place des programmes de mobilisation citoyenne depuis 2015 pour reconnecter l’Homme à la nature.

L’année 2020 a représenté en cela un véritable défi, qui nous a tous contraint à repenser notre manière d’interagir et de nous mobiliser pour l’environnement. Malgré les aléas rencontrés, nous tenons à remercier tous nos partenaires qui ont travaillé à nos côtés tout au long de l’année !

 

« Devenu partenaire d’« Aux Arbres » dès sa création en 2018, Envol Vert y voit un événement incontournable pour les associations environnementales afin de changer le regard du grand public sur les forêts.


Depuis 2020, nous sommes contraints de réinventer nos événements de sensibilisation afin de les adapter au contexte de la crise sanitaire et aux mesures de distanciation sociale. »

Arnaud Lefèvre, responsable Développement et partenariats Envol Vert

 

Pour faire face à ce contexte inédit, la Fondation Maisons du Monde a consacré la fin d’année 2020 à l’adaptation de l’événement « Aux Arbres ! ». Elle a pu compter sur l’aide de ses partenaires pour imaginer un format inédit et adapté à la crise sanitaire avec, toujours, la même ambition : inviter chacun à agir en faveur de la préservation des forêts et de la biodiversité.

Rendez-vous sur la page dédiée à « Aux Arbres ! » sur notre site pour en savoir plus !

 

 

ZOOM SUR NOS PROJETS DE MOBILISATION POUR L'ENVIRONNEMENT DEPUIS 5 ANS

 

 

Envie d’en savoir plus sur nos projets ? Suivez toute notre actualité en vous abonnant à nos comptes LinkedIn, Instagram et Twitter !

Et pour découvrir nos anciens rapports d’activités :

Rapport d'activité 2019